TerraNova
Terra Nova
027 — Flowers are only flowers because they fall...
2
0:00
-4:04

027 — Flowers are only flowers because they fall...

...But thankfully the wind...
2
Transcript

No transcript...

The last time I wrote music because of something I saw on TV was back in 2021.

This is gonna be tricky to share and it truly is a “IYKYK” (if you know, you know) kind of thing because this piece of music was written after watching the penultimate episode 9 of the FX Series Shōgun.

Last week made a video that I posted on my Youtube channel (contains no spoilers) about this show and how incredible it is.

Really feels like a masterpiece.

Ok so back to the reason why I wrote this… It really is sort of me coming to terms with some of the story and what happens to one of the characters, Mariko.

I’m telling you this show has been so meticulously and stunningly executed, I can’t tell you what an incredible journey for me personally it has been watching this every Tuesday for the last 10 weeks.

Its poetic, poignant, and powerful in every way you can imagine.

This piece is sort of my way of processing all the different emotions this show has brought up in me. Both in the writing and acting, the stunning cinematography, all the different aspects of this show was done with such incredible detail, care and excellence. I’m truly blown away by it.

Mariko tells Ochiba in Episode 9 …. “Flowers are flowers because they fall…”

And in Episode 10 Ochiba finishes Mariko’s poem with this line… “But thankfully the wind.”

The writing is of another world deep.

I chose dogwood cause one I took the image of this flower, and two I felt it was perfect for Mariko. What a very beautiful, complex, full of layers of a character she was. This show has managed to finish the story out in such a masterful way.

Dogwood on 35mm (Yosemite National Park)

And maybe this will lead you to watch Shōgun. I do realize not all recommendations I do here or In any of my social media accounts is for everybody. But if you’re looking for a show to dig into, Shōgun might be it.

Either way this show will go down as the best show of 2024. It certainly is for me.

Isa

2 Comments
TerraNova
Terra Nova
This is Terra Nova, a composer, songwriter, musician and photographer based in Southern California. Releasing one new piece of music once a month.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Terra Nova