TerraNova
Terra Nova
003 — Stories Told On The Wall | Terra Nova Release
6
0:00
-5:49

003 — Stories Told On The Wall | Terra Nova Release

Stories Told On The Wall (5:49)
6
a piece of the Wailing Wall in Israel

Good morning!

Thank you for being here and for enjoying the music. Means a lot. Be sure to share it. And if you haven’t subscribed, please do so you don’t miss an email from me when I release a track.

This month’s track was one of those ‘journal tracks’. I sit down and write without thinking too much. Thats partly why its almost 6 minutes long. Longer than some of the other tracks I’ve released.

I was thinking about lack of sleep and how sometimes we stare at walls and think, or worry, or dream, or get strategy or inspiration. So then I started thinking about some walls that perhaps told a story. Or breathed an idea. Or a thought. Or even a prayer.

A few years ago I went to Israel and visited the Walling Wall. I wrote out a prayer and stuck into one the crevices of the wall. In less than a year all my prayers come to be. The next few images are of my experience and perspective of the Wailing Wall or the Western Wall.

All the papers you see are prayers many wrote out and left behind.

It’s really hard for me to ignore all that’s happening in the world right now. So I wanted to share a few scriptures from the Bible to encourage you today:

1 John 5:14 says, "This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us."

Hear my prayer, O Lord, and give ear to my cry; Do not be silent at my tears; For I am a stranger with You, A sojourner like all my fathers. Psalm 84:8

O LORD, hear my prayer, listen to my cry for mercy; in your faithfulness and righteousness come to my relief. Do not bring your servant into judgment, for no one living is righteous before you. Psalm 143:1

Thank you for reading TerraNova. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

Another wall or in this case ceiling that I thought of when writing this piece was the one in the Netflix Show The Queen’s Gambit.

photo by Netflix

photo by Netflix

I particularly loved how orphan chess prodigy, Beth (the main character) would look up to the ceiling and get her strategy for the game of chess. Kind of a cool way to show what was going on in her head.

If you haven’t seen the show, I recommend it!


I’ve been reading a lot of Wendell’s poems lately and I wanted to share one he wrote called What We Need Is Here

What We Need Is Here

written by Wendell Berry

Geese appear high over us,
pass, and the sky closes. Abandon,
as in love or sleep, holds
them to their way, clear
in the ancient faith: what we need
is here. And we pray, not
for new earth or heaven, but to be
quiet in heart, and in eye,
clear. What we need is here.

You can now listen to Terra Nova on the NEW Substack App Available for iPhone!

Read TerraNova in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android
6 Comments
TerraNova
Terra Nova
This is Terra Nova, a composer, songwriter, musician and photographer based in Southern California. Releasing one new piece of music once a month.