TerraNova
Terra Nova
002 — Final Farewell | Terra Nova Release
4
0:00
-3:00

002 — Final Farewell | Terra Nova Release

Final Farewell
4

Hi!

This is Terra Nova sending you an original piece once a month.

If you like what you hear, please consider sharing this post.

Thank you for listening. Hope you are doing well!


This month’s piece is called Final Farewell.

Recently I sat down to do some “music journaling.” It’s where I sit down in front of my computer and write in a continuous flow. I learned this technique through Hans Zimmer. Its actually very therapeutic. So that day I pulled up LABS Dulcimer cause I wanted to try something different.

Right before I went to write I checked my Instagram account and saw a post from a friend that she shared in her stories about a very young police officer who was shot and killed in the line of duty. I clicked on the post from the New York Times and read about it.

I couldn’t believe how many NYPD officers came out int the streets the day of his funeral to pay their respects. As I swiped to see the other images, this one struck me.

(Image not mine) Here is the link to the post on Instagram.

It was heavy. And then right after, I found myself writing this piece. I didn’t plan on sharing it.

I sent it to my brother and he had a lot of thoughts on it and felt maybe I should share it. I asked him to title it and he did without really knowing why I wrote it.

I had a different track to share with you this month but I’ll hold off on it for now.

It was written as a continuous flow. What you hear is what I played after I pressed record. I didn’t go back to change anything except add a modular bass and a pad for texture. Thats it. The first time I ever heard the dulcimer, I was in high school. I always thought it sounded so heavenly. Like there was this really cool spirit about the instrument.

I don’t have a whole lot to say except loss comes to all of us. In some form or another.

I’m so sorry this happened to you Jason and Wilbert and to the ones who loved you. Rest In Peace Detective Jason Rivera and his partner Officer Wilbert Mora!

Thank you for reading TerraNova. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

4 Comments
TerraNova
Terra Nova
This is Terra Nova, a composer, songwriter, musician and photographer based in Southern California. Releasing one new piece of music once a month.