TerraNova
Terra Nova
022a — Hold Me Jesus | Church Recording
4
0:00
-3:12

022a — Hold Me Jesus | Church Recording

Jūrmalciems Church By The Sea
4
Transcript

No transcript...

(best way to listen is via headphones)

I’ve been out of the country since August. And I had the amazing honor to do some demo recordings at a church by the sea. While I was there I couldn’t help but think of Rich Mullins. Inside this empty church in Latvia struggling to find my musical footing. Not him though. Before he died, he too was in an empty church with a guitar and a recorder and recorded demos of songs right before he got into a car accident that killed him.


Trying to find my musical footing, I took a very long walk not worrying about the clock and just walked and walked and walked some more. I felt so much inner struggle until like the last 10 minutes of the walk.



There is so much volleying for our attention and really what’s needed is to go back to what is important. For me it’s songs like this. So real, so not filled with religious bs cause if I’m being honest I’m tired. Tired of hearing it, tired of seeing it.

This song was the only ‘church’ song that I could relate to in my freshmen year of college. I was so depressed. I was in a very dark place. I was not loving life and not loving God or people.

My friend showed me this song while I was laid out sick. I cried and cried and cried my eyes out. And then I found out Rich had passed away and I cried even more. The only Christian artist that I ran into anyways, that was writing songs about their faith being small. Like finally someone talking about the human condition in a church song. So here I was, alone in the woods, and feeling all kinds of stuff.

It’s what happens when we dare to shut it all out to just listen to the ONLY THING THAT REALLY MATTERS. And for me it’s God.

You don’t have to be a certain way to feel something when you listen to this. I hope that wherever you are t gives you much peace. Especially in this crazy, upside down world we are all currently in. Peace in the storm. Peace in the chaos. Peace.

Thank you for being here….

Thank you for supporting this newsletter monetarily.

There are moments where I wonder why this piece of the internet exists.

And then I figure that if one person benefits from this, then great.

So here it is, the full version for you.

Peace to you friend!

Isa

4 Comments
TerraNova
Terra Nova
This is Terra Nova, a composer, songwriter, musician and photographer based in Southern California. Releasing one new piece of music once a month.