TerraNova
Terra Nova
001 — Terra Nova Release
16
0:00
-1:52

001 — Terra Nova Release

16

Happy New Year,

Thank you for being here for the very first installment of this newsletter, and the first of 2022. This piece of music is simply titled 001.

This piece was created during the second week into October 2021. I was feeling particularly hopeless. Was thinking a lot about how easy it is to lose our humanity. I was seeing some things online that I didn’t particularly like. So instead of fighting with my typing, I wrote some pieces.

Its all performed, produced, recorded, mixed and mastered by me. I’ve been composing work like this since March of 2020. I had no real knowledge of how to record music onto programs like Logic Pro. I’m practically self taught in this. But I spend a lot of time learning, reading and watching great storytelling that inspire me. And there’s a lot of content out there that I will share as recommendations here that has inspired me.

This track…It’s a vibe!

I wanted to kind of create something with a little beat. So I experimented with beats and haunting sounds. I used a lot of Spitfire and Labs sounds, but I also grabbed a few beats from Stylus and tweaked them. I also used some sounds from my friends over at Teletone Audio. Check them out. They have some vibey stuff.


I want to thank a few people in particular for encouraging and inspiring me to do this online newsletter.

Fog Chaser was the first. Matt’s a fellow composer based in the Pacific Northwest. He too has a substack you might fancy. Please check it out and subscribe here. His music is quite lovely and other things he offers is a plus.

I also want to thank my friends who I spent the holidays with recently, Jackie and Carmen O’Quinn, and Stacy O’Quinn. The best people to have in your corner.

This track is not titled. Some will be titled and I will post the titles when appropriate. Also important to note that not everything you hear here is final :). Some of it is, and they will make their way over to some streaming platforms. But I want to be able to release demos in process that I’m working on.

This month piece is accompanied by an image I took in Oceanside, Ca. Sights like this give me a lot of hope.

If you feel like it, please let me know what you think of the piece in the comments. I’d love to hear from you!

Thanks again for being here.

photo taken on iPhone 12 pro

TerraNova is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Share

16 Comments
TerraNova
Terra Nova
This is Terra Nova, a composer, songwriter, musician and photographer based in Southern California. Releasing one new piece of music once a month.